Home » Everything Else » Looking and Leaping

Looking and Leaping

Today I’ve got a special treat! I’m actually posting about my life, rather than reviewing something. Surprise. You have last semester’s class to thank: this is an assignment in which I had ten minutes to write an anecdote about my family.

That's a stairway, all right.

Everyone in my family uses eye correction. All eight of us. Sixteen, if you count individual eyes. My youngest sibling, Isaac, was one of the last to be diagnosed, and also underwent the most dramatic change as a result.

Isaac, my other brother Eric, and I all enjoyed jumping down stairs as kids, and Isaac would always launch himself gleefully down the entire carpeted flight with abandon, covering 12 steps in one leap despite being half as big as I was. When Isaac got glasses at age 7, this practice stopped. He abandoned his abandon.

Once Isaac saw his path a little more clearly, even though he has always brushed himself off after every past jump, he chose to play it safe. I’m not sure if there is a pat moral to this story, really. He may have missed out on something he considered beyond his ability, but to be honest it probably was. I mean, that sort of jumping can give you a lot of joint problems later in life.

Leave a Reply

